A little of what I like to do… { EDITORIAL | MOTION GRAPHICS | COMPOSER }

 

Swiss Bobsledding
I’m showing the adrenaline portion in this demo, but the full sequence is actually set-up without music and then the run. Two different editorial challenges, I loved them both. One for its behind-the-scenes feel and the other for it’s multi-camera motion madness.

TRAILER Europe for Music Lovers
What I love most about this piece is actually the process of working with the trailer’s producer and executive producer across three days with access to digital footage from 52 travel shows produced by the company. It was a process of both discovery and intention, being open to how different performances hit me and being faithful to the producer’s vision. What can I say? We pulled it off. 🙂

Flawless Kevin
Like the boxing edit below, I cut this one without music to see if it would hold up without music… and it does. Kevin’s a very kinetic young man, highly improvisational, with a considerable backlog of content on his YouTube channel. This piece was absolute fun to edit.

UW Boxing
When this project came up, another editor and I were both available to cut it. Both of us were deferential to the possibility of the other getting the gig… but we each very much wanted to be the one to put it together. Scheduling got me this edit… and I thoroughly enjoyed setting the stage for the UW Boxing Club as well as piecing together the fights.

Neuroscience for Kids
In my experience shooting and editing, I’ve done a lot of work with teens. It’s a pretty random lot of work, mostly capturing a particular energy through pacing and music. With this project, I was given the opportunity to express some of that manic energy through motion graphics as well. A wonderful way to stretch my creative impulses.

A Mountain Express
For this project, I’m editor, composer, and performer. For sequence I edited first, composed second. The fully arranged composition, I feel, captures the experience of this train through these mountains most faithfully. The process of edit first then compose, of course, takes longer with one person doing both jobs… but it is fun to cut sequences to the music I hear in my head and then get to compose and perform that music. 🙂

Flawless Kevin
Edits like this are rare in my experience. In this case, there’s definitely a manic, improvisational vibe that carries through the entire piece. However, this is a young person subjected to bullying in his teens… and his heart reaches out to others who don’t fit in. It makes for an unexpected, warm close that brings this piece to another level.

UW Boxing
I knew going in that this edit was gonna be filled with all kinds of heart and inspiration. It’s a project that, from an editor’s and a viewer’s point of view, has it all: both action and depth. That kid at the end? Wow. A hugely heartbreaking story with a very heartwarming conclusion to this step in his life. It’s some special kind of treat to get to work on a piece that not only professionally challenges me… but also personally inspires me as well.

Leave a comment